Professional jury

From October 1st 2021, when registrations for the competition are closed, the professional jury will start its work. These are all people who in their daily work deal with different facets of (contemporary) painting. First the professional jury will assess all entries (digitally) with a grade from 0 to 10. From the 50 nominees with the highest grades it will choose the 20 finalists, the top 10 and the winner of Painting of the Year 2021. The winner will be announced on December 1st or short thereafter via a personal message, the website, press release(s), newsletters and Facebook.

Lita Cabellut

Lita Cabellut (1961, Spain) is a broad-focused artist who lives and works in The Hague. Awarded the title 'Kunstenaar van het jaar 2021' (Artist of the Year 2021) by Stichting Kunstweek.

Read more

Edwin Becker

Edwin Becker (1963) has been working at the Van Gogh Museum since 1992, specialising in visual and applied art from the fin-de-siècle, resulting in presentations of surprising and undiscovered themes and artists.

Read more

Raoul Locht

Raoul Locht (1976) studied art and cultural philosophy and journalism at the University of Groningen and the University of Amsterdam. 

Read more

Leo van Heijningen

Leo van Heijningen (1955) is an art historian and the gallery owner of Kunstzaal van Heijningen in The Hague.

Read more

Latest paintings

Sign up for our newsletter



Color of the Year 2021

How could Painting of the year NOT use the Color for the year for it's website?

Read more


Winner of Painting of the Year 2020!!

'Anna' from Berardino Rubini is the winner of Painting of the Year 2020!

Read more


Winner Audience Award 2020

Julanne Barry wins the Audience Award of Painting of the Year 2020 with her painting 'Joy'.

Read more


Social media

Painting of the Year also has a Facebook page and an Instagram account.

Read more

Follow us